PM Rowley Distributes Instruments Of Appointment To Cabinet-Appointed SEA Committee

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley distributed instruments of appointment to members of the Cabinet appointed SEA committee at the Diplomatic Centre today, Wednesday 24th November, 2021.

The Committee’s mandate is to review and recommend changes to the conduct of the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) and transition to secondary school, and the Concordat after review of the relevant Consultation Reports generated by the Ministry of Education and further consultation which the Committee may deem necessary.

The report of the Committee will form part of the Ministry of Education’s Education Policy 2022-2027, which will focus on eight main areas: TVET (Technical and Vocational Education and Training) Revitalization, curriculum reform, digital transformation, amendment of the education act, equity in quality education, the transition of learners through our education systems, enabling student success and human resource development.

Dr. Rowley, who delivered the feature address, said “this assignment will not be treated as another document, but it will be treated as instructions for change”.

The Prime Minister announced his intention to take the completed report to the Parliament as a Green Paper for further discussion. The Committee has been given nine months to complete the report.

Dr. Rowley thanked the members of the Committee for accepting the appointment and for their service to Trinidad and Tobago.

Also joining the ceremony was Minister of Education, Dr. Hon Nyan Gadsby-Dolly and Minister in the Ministry of Education, Lisa Morris Julian.

The Committee comprises the following members:
• Rev. Joy Abdul Mohan
• Ms. Antonia Teka- De Freitas
• Ms. Sherra Carrington – James
• Dr. Peter Smith
• Professor Jerome De Lisle
• Dr. Ruby Alleyne
• Dr. Joanne Spence
• Ms. Naima Hosein
• Ms. Carlene Hayes
• Ms. Zena Ramatali
• Mr. Haji Imtiaz Ali
• Pundit Omadath Navin Maharaj
• Ms. Sonia Mahase-Persad
• Mr. Phillip Anthony Rochford
• Ms. Nadine John – St. Rose
• Ms. Bernadine Dick
• Mr. Lance Mottley
• Mr. Kwesi Atiba
• Mr. Harrilal Seecharan
• Mr. Marlon Seales

Translate »